Scarf Dress

Remember this post? How I was able to make a woman’s elastic waist skirt out of one scarf?

Well, about a year later, I finally got around to using the other scarf I purchased and turned it into a toddler dress.

photo from ebay

Using Simplicity 2709, I cut out view F and used muslin for the lining. It’s a simple pattern, well written, but the dress is a bit time consuming. Nothing too crazy, though, just takes a bit of time to make all the tiers.

When I was finished, the dress needed something else to break up the small print, so I made a few yo-yos to put across the middle. But then the fabric was just a tad too bright an aqua (I used the scraps left over from this shirt).  Feeling a bit thwarted, but thrifty, I decided to dunk the yo-yos in bleach to see what happened to the color.

The end result? Perfection. They didn’t bleach evenly (the fabric had a raw thread to it) and it matched the older feel of the calico perfectly. I love it when my brilliant ideas work out!

Too bad my daughter had a melt down when she saw the flowers – she liked  it better “naked” as she put it. Such a hard life. 🙂

**no we didn’t get a dog – we are dog sitting for some friends**

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. RACHEL

     /  April 18, 2011

    very very cute. and isn’t it funny what our girls decide to throw fits over…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

