Living Room Update

So, since we painted our livingroom/tv room/converted garage box of a room a lovely shade of green, I have yet to decorate.  We rearranged furniture and that’s about it. I know what I want to do with the room, but our budget is not allowing for any kind of decorating at the moment.  One day I’ll be able to buy new curtains, or cheaply update our boring tan ones, get a wood curtain rod to match all the others in the house, and get stuff to put on the walls. Maybe a few bookcases/storage thingies. At least my furniture works!

These are my inspirations:

this room found in House Beautiful. Oh how I adore that fabric!

 

– these topiaries from New Moon (yes, scoff and mock, but one can find inspiration anywhere) in Bella’s birthday scene. They are amazing.

Twilight New Moon

 

Now, as I said, my decorating budget is nill, so buying silk flowers is out of the picture. Sad, huh? But right now all my extra income is going to Christmas presents (so buy headbands so I can buy a gift for my husband :).

However, today, via How About Orange, I figured out how I’m going to make my own versions of the topiaries.  This tutorial + paper doilies + glass vases = awesome cheap topiaries.

Or at least, I hope so. Here’s to hoping I can find some vases, like these from Pier 1, for cheap!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Cherie

     /  November 26, 2010

    You gotta try the thrift stores. The ones in my area always have a huge collection of weird vases that would look awesome if fixed up right. Good luck!

    Reply
  2. I’m sure they’ll be fabulous! I can’t wait to see them all finished up!

    Reply

Leave a comment