Quilt II

I finally finished my second attempt at this quilt. I think I started it in February (maybe January) using scraps from baby blankets I’ve made – it was intended to be an Easter gift for my daughter’s BFF. 


It’s now a birthday gift for her. 


Because I am that on top of this whole quilting thing 🙂


But you must admit, this was speedy compared to the 3.5 years it took me to finish the first one.


I’ve learned a lot about quilting since I started my daughter’s quilt 4 years ago:
  1. Tie your outer corners, or the batting will move like crazy
  2. Cut your tie ends short (if using wool yarn) so it balls up properly (otherwise, they look like ratty fuzzy tails)
  3. Strip cutting is the only way to go, or your squares end up all funky sized.
  4. Cut off the selvage from your fabric piece
  5. Sew with 1/4″ seams! (I know, duh, right? but years of sewing 5/8″ makes 1/4″ seem to tiny to work)
  6. Don’t just lay the batting and back piece on top of the quilt and cut them out using the top piece as a pattern. Measure, measure, measure.
  7. I still don’t love quilting, but I am begining to like how quickly a simple quilt can come together.

And here it is, the BFF’s birthday quilt:


Photobucket

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Ooo, lovely lovely! Quilting scares me to death, so any quilting is super-duper impressive in my book!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

