Wedding Card

So, I love to design cards. Mainly because the ones at the store always seem so impersonal. Anyone can just buy a pretty card and sign their name. One that you designed especially for a person(s) has such a greater weight of meaning. It’s almost as important as the gift its self, since it’s the first thing the person sees. Plus, I’m super, super cheap. $5 for a Hallmark card? Yeah right. And I don’t do the stamping/scrapbooking stuff. It’s all about Illustrator, baby.

Anyways, I needed to design a card to go along with the aprons I made for our cousin and his new wife. Now, I know the groom rather well, but have only met his bride once and didn’t get a chance to talk to her.  It makes it a little tough for me to design, not knowing the tastes of the person I’m creating for. Because, yes, I do love to please. All I know is that she’s quiet and her favorite color is green. I was kind of stumped on what to do.

Until I saw the most recent recipe on the Good Look Cookbook. Have you checked out the Good Look Cookbook yet? If you haven’t, you really must. I love getting inspiration from other artists and this site does such a great job of giving you the break down of their inspirations and materials used. Even though all I really need is an image to go off of, it’s really nice to have it all laid out for you.

Using  Melissa Esplin‘s recipe for her Relief Society poster, I created a card with similar lettering and a stellar image from istockphoto (yeah, it’s not free, but totally, totally worth it). I’m pretty darned pleased with the results.

Now let’s just hope and pray that they like both the card and the aprons šŸ™‚

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. This is lovely!! You did a fabulous job!I would love to see this design added to GLCB's flickr group. If you submit it & comment on the GLCB cookoff post, you could win free printing for 100 4×6 flat postcards. Which I think would be great for you since you make all of your own cards. Anyway, I just wanted to let you know you did a FABULOUS job. I'm sure they'll absolutely love the card & the aprons. The tie iron on is genius, btw.

    Reply
  2. Again, fantastic card, and I love your new site look.

    Reply
  3. mmm, fabulous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

