Summer Staple

As promised, here are the pictures of the shirts I made for my daughter while I was sick, using Simplicity Pattern 3511. Knowing that the two of you who read this blog regularly want to see pictures, I snapped some shots today in full sun. I don’t recommend taking pictures outside during the sun’s zenith, but I’m impatient to get a post up (really, how is it the 11th of June???). So, high contrast and all, here are they are.
My first attempt: pattern size 2, white seersucker yoke & sleeves, striped seersucker from the TuttiFrutti collection 3 years ago, pink ribbon & white 1/2″ buttons. Result: slightly big for my girl (she weas a 2t bottom, 3t top in RTW) overall, and the sleeves were far too billowy for her.  That said, I love the look of the tunic top and she’ll grow into it.
Second attempt: blue shirting with a raw thread from my mom’s fabric stash, 1/2″ white flower buttons, pattern size 1 with a size 2 length. Result: perfect fit, lovely billowy fabric that floats away from the body, perfect for summer (I wish that there had been enough left over for a top for me). The color is amazing on my blonde haired blue eyed girl.
This pattern is super easy, fast, and a great staple for summer. I’m working on two more dresses using the same pattern, one with a plaid skirt and striped yoke, the other with seersucker. 
Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Soooo tasty! You are making me miss having my sewing machine handy! It's all the way back in Utah!

    Reply
  1. Scarf Dress « Boot & Looty

Leave a Reply

