Mother’s Day Brooch

Have you seen NotMartha‘s felt dahlia corsages yet? If you haven’t, get your browser over there! ‘Cause this is a must do craft.

Now I know they may seem a little overwhelming, with all the cutting and gluing, but let me tell you, it was totally therapeutic for me and calming. I know, I just said a craft was calming. But it was.

I made mine out of the left over felt from my daughter’s Blue’s Clues Halloween costume, so they are a little on the garish side (has anyone seen dahlia’s in bright blue??), but I’m all about using the on hand stuff. Mainly ’cause I live in the boonies 😉

I also made mine into a hair clip & my mom’s is the brooch. I’m just not cool enough to rock the brooch right now….

Aren’t they just lovely?? Sigh.

Anyways, I made three modifications when I made mine:

1) I made a template for the petals, because I totally fail at cutting things free hand. And I am just OCD enough to want them to match.

2) Megan used FabricTac adhesive and clothespins/heavy pan to glue & hold her petals. Seeing as how I’m super impatient & didn’t have any FabricTac on hand,  I used my aleene’s glue gun (thanks Mom for talking me into it – soooo worth the extra money!) with the smallest nozzle and only put a small dab of glue on each petal.  I got really good results, where as my first try using tacky glue and holding the petals closed with closepins was a disaster. I ended up as a mess of felt with globs of wood stuck to them. Yuck.

3) I cut the 3.25″ circle down to 3″ and then clipped the edges to make the back less bulky when I glued it on to the cardboard. For some reason just folding it over with my felt ended up being really really thick.

the one on the left is the 3.25″ circle and the one on the right is the 3″ one. Crazy how thick the left one is!

Oh and I also omitted the contrasting back and secret pocket, mainly because I didn’t have any other felt.

I am so excited to wear mine tomorrow – I might even make one for my daughter, just toddler size.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Ooo, so beautiful! They're really just lovely!

    Reply

Leave a comment