Getting Ready for Easter

Growing up, my Mom always got my sister and I new dresses for Easter. I’m pretty sure her mom did it, too. I’ve been driven to have the same happen for my daughter.
Last year, I spent too much money on a beautiful dress from Macys for her. he wore it a lot to make up for it!
This year, I spent $3 on her dress. Amazing, huh? I got the fabric and lace from my Mom’s stash (I think I had something made out of this eyelet). All I needed to buy was thread and a zipper. I also used the same pattern that I used for her Christmas dress, but left off the time consuming pleated sleeves. 
My girl sure loves her princess dress and won’t take it off. I love how she totally posed for me – usually she sees the camera and yells, “No say cheese, Mommy!”

This week LollyChops is doing Wallflowers Week and is show casing all kinds of flower crafts. She highlighted the fabric flower tutorial done by MollyChicken yesterday, which I was so excited to see. I’ve been trying to think of what to make for my daughter’s hair accessory to coordinate with her dress (last year I made a giant korker bow) and this was perfect! I didn’t like all the raw edges (she is, after all, wearing this ensemble to Church), so I zig zagged them. It didn’t make a huge difference, but I tried 🙂 Not sure what I’ll put in the center, but I love the way it looks.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Kristin–this dress is FABULOUS! I love love love it!

    Reply
  2. mmmm, just lovely and oh-so-perfect for your sweet little thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

